Register for Idea State U 2016 finals!

Are you ready? Register

What You Need to Know

Dates and Deadlines

Featured Image

Rules and Guidelines

Featured Image

Previous Winners

Featured Image


Featured Image

About Idea State U

Kentucky’s statewide business plan competition is designed to encourage innovation and entrepreneurship by rewarding student teams from the Commonwealth’s colleges and universities. Winning teams will be those judged as having the best new business concepts and business plans for proposed new ventures. The contest is open to a wide-range of products, services or charitable activities a proposed for-profit or non-profit venture would offer. However, a team’s chances of winning improve if the entry is judged as having more potential to succeed in the real marketplace. The competition places emphasis on business concepts and plans that are scored by independent judges as most likely to result in successful, high-growth ventures. Additional prizes will be awarded for entries based on a high-tech product, high-tech service or high-tech intellectual property. “High-tech,” for purposes of the competition, is defined as a product, service or intellectual property derived from scientific research and development, and is based on, employs, or represents the most advanced technology currently available. Idea State U is a program of the Kentucky Cabinet for Economic Development.

Judging Criteria

Judging Criteria Entries will be judged on the merits of the idea, how well the idea is communicated in the entry itself, at the table top display, the makeup of the team and the completeness of the entry. Judges are looking for innovation based ideas that are scalable. For further information download Judging Criteria found in the official Rules and Guidelines.


Prizes and Awards

Win Up to $26,000